Academy of Associate Degree Nursing

HomeAbout UsAcademy of Associate Degree Nursing
HomeAbout UsAcademy of Associate Degree Nursing

Academy Of Associate Degree Nursing

The Academy of Associate Degree Nursing (AADN) was established to recognize those individuals who model exemplary dedication to associate degree nursing education and practice, and have worked as change agents to advance health and education through associate degree nursing.

Academy members are those actively engaged in associate degree nursing education or practice, with proven records of excellence in their institutions and a demonstrated commitment to the health of their communities.

The honorary academy fellowship recognizes those individuals who have worked to transform health and education through associate degree nursing throughout the breadth of their careers.  Honorary fellows have worked in education and practice, as well as other fields such as advocacy and service.

OADN celebrates all fellows of the AADN and their remarkable contributions to students, faculty, patients, communities, and the nurse leaders of tomorrow. 

2019 Academy Fellows

single image

Mariann Harding, Jan Jones-Schenk, Annette Hutcherson, Pamela Bales, Janet Fletcher


2019 Fellows 

  • Janet Fletcher, MSN, RN, FAADN
  • Mariann Harding, PhD, RN, CNE, FAADN
  • Annette Hutcherson, EdD, MN, CNE, FAADN
  • Pamela Bales, MSN, RN, FAADN                                               

2019 Honorary Fellow

  • Jan Jones-Schenk, D.HSc, RN, NE-BC, FAAN, FAADN                                             

2018 Fellows                                                

  • Dawn Bunting, EdD, MSN, RN, CNE, FAADN
  • Irene Coons, PhD, RN, CNE, FAADN
  • Margi Schultz, PhD, MSN, RN, CNE, FAADN
  • Anna Maria Valdez, PhD, RN, CEN CFRN, CNE, FAEN, FAADN

2018 Honorary Fellows  

  • Liana Orsolini, PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN, FAADN
  • Patricia Porterfield, EdD, RN, FAADN
  • Harriet McClung, BA, FAADN                                             

2017 Fellows                                                

  • Charles Preston Molsbee, EdD, MSN, RN, CNE, FAADN
  • Tracey Siegel, EdD, MSN, RN, CNE, CWN, FAADN
  • Karin J. Sherrill, MSN, RN, CHSE, CNE, ANEF, FAADN

2017 Honorary Fellows  

  • Tim Bristol, PhD, RN, ANEF, FAADN
  • Frances K. Leibfreid, MEd, BSN, RN, FAADN
  • H. Catherine Miller, EdD, MS, RN, CNE, FAADN
  • Sue Ochsner, EdD, RN, FAADN
  • Sylvia Rayfield, MN, RN, CNS, FAADN
  • Carolyn Simpson*, MSN, RN, FAADN 

 *Carolyn Simpson passed away in August of 2017, she was inducted posthumously.                                                         


  • Bobbie B. Anderson, MEd, MN, RN, Dean Emeritus, Nursing and Allied Health,  Hinds Community College, Jackson, MS
  • Nancy Berger, MSN, RN, CNE, Director, Middlesex County College, Edison, NJ
  • Kelly Gray, DNP, RN, CNE, Assistant Dean, Health Sciences, North Central State College, Mansfield, OH
  • Elizabeth H. Mahaffey, Dean, Nursing and Allied Health, Hinds Community College, Jackson, MS
  • Mary H. Nifong, MSN, RN, CNE, Nursing Program Director, Pikes Peak Community College, Colorado Springs, CO
  • Linda M. Perfetto, MS, RN, CNE, CNOR, Director, System Nursing Curricular Operations, Connecticut Board of Regents for higher Education, CT Community College Nursing Program, Mansfield Center,  CT
  • Helen Reid, Provost, Health Science Center, Trinity Valley Community College, Kaufman, TX

  • Donna Meyer, MSN, RN, ANEF, CEO, OADN, Pensacola, FL, Professor Emerita, Lewis & Clark Community College, Godfrey, IL
  • Virginia Pennington, DSN, RN, Professor Emeritus, Louisiana Tech University, Ruston, VA
  • Verle Waters-Clark*, MSN, RN, Dean Emerita Ohlone College, Freemont, CA

*Verle Waters-Clark passed away on August 1, 2016, she was inducted posthumously.

Inaugural Induction of Dr. Susan Hassmiller

(November 13, 2015) - The formation of the Academy of Associate Degree Nursing (AADN) was announced at the OADN National Conference. Dr.  Susan Hassmiller PhD, RN, FAAN, Senior Advisor to Nursing at the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation was the inaugural inductee of the Academy.

CEO Donna Meyer stated, “Dr. Hassmiller is the perfect individual to be our inaugural inductee. As an associate degree graduate she understands the role of associate degree nursing education while exemplifying academic progression in her own professional career. The OADN Board of Directors applauds her work in assuring the important role of associate degree nursing education.”

Dr.  Hassmiller joined the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation in 1997, is presently the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Senior Adviser for Nursing.  In this role, she shapes and leads the Foundation’s nursing strategies in an effort to create a higher quality of care in the United States for people, families and communities. Drawn to the Foundation’s “organizational advocacy for the less fortunate and underserved,” Hassmiller is helping to assure that RWJF's commitments in nursing have a broad and lasting national impact.  In partnership with AARP, Hassmiller directs the Foundation’s Future of Nursing: Campaign for Action, which seeks to ensure that everyone in America can live a healthier life, supported by a system in which nurses are essential partners in providing care and promoting health.

The program will recognize associate degree nursing educators, and others committed to associate degree nursing education, who model exemplary dedication to nursing education and practice.  Associate degree nursing educators are historically responsible for the first nursing education experience of half of the nursing workforce, and set the example for associate degree nursing graduates to continue their education to become the nursing leaders of tomorrow.  The AADN program has been established to recognize the work of outstanding associate degree nursing educators or supporters, and their remarkable contributions as role models for students and other faculty colleagues.